Going Off The Beaten Path

“I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;”
John Masefield
I remember reading that poem some years ago and feeling that someone had written down the thoughts I couldn’t. That would be just the life for me. . . I can’t imagine myself living this life that everyone else around me lives. . .having no purpose to life except getting more academic degrees to get more money and then spending the money to help your kids get a lot of academic degrees to get a lot of money and so on. Living to eat and sleep is an animal thing. . . we’ve got to do more than that.
I’ve spent the last three years of my life of my life going from college to my house and back, and the three  years before that at my house ( yeah that’s right). I’ve spent the last six years doing so much stuff at ‘fixed’ times. . .fixed by others obviously. It’s been forever since I felt like happy anywhere. I wish I could live outside the concrete walls of this city. I wish that my mornings were so adorned by the birds and the rising sun that I’d feel like getting up early. . .but all I see when I get up early is the uninspiring. . .concrete. . .all around me. I haven’t seen the sunrise in days, the moon in months and the sunset in a year. I haven’t felt the peace that you get watching the birds fly around and the squirrels running and the trees getting dressed in beautifully green new leaves after they shed their old garb. I know the city has it’s own charm but maybe, it’s better if they don’t go about shutting every beautiful view with another brick in the wall, another pillar for the Mass Rapid Transit Service. But since they are gonna do it anyway, I might as well go around and have a look at the wide world and all that it has to offer.
I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.
Leave a Reply

