Daily Prompt: Earworm

Write whatever you normally write about, and weave in a book quote, film quote, or song lyric that’s been sticking with you this week.

“I guess that’s what happens in the end, you start thinking about the beginning.” Brad Pitt in Mr. & Mrs. Smith

Last year around this time, I thought I’d had enough of living my old life and decided to get rid of it somehow . . .anyhow. That’s what brings me here away from my parents’ home. So, some days before leaving the house, knowing that things might hopefully never be the same again, I started thinking about the beginning. . .not the absolute beginning obviously, but beginning as in as far as my memory could take me. And I thought about the times when everything seemed fine and how I got to know that nothing was (in a slow and painful way). I thought of the time when I was in my first school and things weren’t so complicated and difficult. I thought of the time when my life got miserable each passing day and I could do nothing to stop it. And I thought of the time when I went to great lengths to make things better. I thought of the time when I decided to never go back to my ancestral town and I thought of all the good I had given up therein, with the bad. I thought of my graduation studies themselves and how I had, unwillingly at first, dragged myself through it somehow. I thought of how my family had assailed my self-esteem and how it healed.

I thought of how some things that seemed monumental once lose monumentality as we age, and how others still seem monumental. . .

In response to Daily Prompt: Earworm

Leave a Reply

