Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?
Photographers, artists, poets: show us IDENTITY.

Until a few days ago, I thought I did know the meaning of my name. I’d been telling it to all those who were curious about my rare  moniker, since school days. But, as I read a sentence in Arabic and the corresponding translation, imagine my disappointment when I figured that, not only might I have been misinformed, but also my name didn’t really have any good meaning at all. Was that, then, the reason for it’s being rare? Then again, there are people who have that name, including Arabs. So, it couldn’t be that bad. Hence, I forgot all about my doubts, until I read this post, Googled my name to double check and my disappointment came back, with renewed vigour.

In response to:
Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

9 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Name that… You!

  1. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  2. Pingback: Me – Zermatt, Switzerland | alternative.reality

  3. Pingback: what’s in my name | Musings of a Random Mind

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: What is in the name… | Me: A Wannabe-Superhero

  6. Pingback: What’s in a name? | Natasha's Memory Garden

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

