Daily Prompt: Toy Story

What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us MEMENTO.

I really need to thank Daily Prompt for bringing back memories of the good old days.

Courtesy: http://www.aliexpress.com

Some twenty years ago, the toys in the picture could have easily distracted me from all worries and getting to play it would be accomplishment enough for me. I would have pretended to cut the fish on the chopping board, and would have offered the cupcakes to my peers around. Yeah, I used to love playing with kitchen toys. 

I remember spending my summer holidays cooking and serving plastic food. When there weren’t any toys, as on a visit to a relative, we’d make stuff out of paper. Away from the idiot box, we’d spend the afternoons playing kitchen. 

The connection between my life now and my favorite toys? My cooking skills are inversely proportional to my liking for this game, at least for now. So, how did that happen? My love for this game was looked down on, by all people around me. Should I thank feminism and its effects on the minds of little girls? The other girls preferred dressing up their dolls. I was too scared of dolls to try that. Thus, in the process of growing up, I drifted, away from all kinds of things related to housekeeping, and towards academic pursuits. Some years ago, my love for the kitchen was revived by watching all those cooking shows on the television. I haven’t gained much practical experience in the cooking department yet, having been busy with other things. I hope that changes in the near future.

In response to: Daily Prompt: Toy Story

7 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toy Story

  1. Pingback: It’s Doggie Playtime | Anchors Aweigh

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: My doll house | A mom's blog

  4. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  6. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  7. Pingback: Friendly monsters | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

